3 councilors will be elected for 1 year

To save money, stagger terms and potentially draw more voters, Dublin is changing how its town council members and clerk-treasurer are elected this year. 

Historically, all five council members were elected at the same time. Those municipal elections have taken place in the “off” year before a presidential election.

Turnout is usually much lower for elections in odd years since voters have fewer choices to attract them to the polls. In 2024, Indiana’s governor and U.S. and state representatives will be on the ballot.  

Dublin council members amended town code in early 2022 to change the method of its elections, starting this year.

This year, two town councilors and the town clerk will be elected for an initial three-year term.

Three other councilors will be elected for just a one-year initial term.

After these initial adjustment terms, all terms will be for a normal four years, but on a staggered basis.

That means when candidates file for one of the five open seats this year, they need to designate whether they are running for a three-year seat or a one-year seat.

The two candidates who get the most votes for the three-year term, and the three top vote-getters for the one-year seats, all will take office.

Staff in the Wayne County clerk’s office are aware of this new designation. They will help candidates who have questions when filing for a candidacy before the Aug. 1 deadline.

Questions also may be directed to Dublin’s Clerk-Treasurer Julia McCarty at 765-478-4878.

Share this:

Millicent Martin Emery is a reporter and editor for the Western Wayne News.