As the filing deadline gets closer, a few more candidates filed for local, state and national elected offices last week. 

The most recent additions that some voters will see on their May primary ballot include:

  • County council: Cathy C. Williams, Republican
  • County surveyor: Gordon E. Moore, Republican
  • Republican state convention delegate: Bob Bever and Stephen H. Rabe (District 1); Vicki L. Chasteen (District 2); and Brent Smith (District 3)
  • Republican precinct committeepersons: Bob Bever (Boston 1); Stephen H. Rabe (Wayne 24); Janice L. Roberts (Center 2); George M. Sowers (Wayne 25) 
  • Governor: Eric Doden, Republican
  • U.S. Representative (District 6): Darin Childress, Republican 

Candidates’ filing deadline for the May primary is noon Feb. 9. 

Local offices up for grabs include county council, two commissioner seats, coroner, clerk, treasurer, surveyor, judge, precinct committeeperson and state convention delegate, plus Indiana’s District 56 House representative. 

In addition, no incumbents are running for Indiana’s District 6 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives and one of Indiana’s U.S. Senate seats.

Elected officials provide leadership and oversight of government functions that affect the daily lives of local residents. From making decisions about responsible uses of taxpayer dollars to responding to citizen concerns, those elected or re-elected could shape key aspects of county operations for years.

Prospective candidates can visit the voter registration office in the courthouse, 301 E. Main St. in Richmond, or call 765-973-9304 for more information. 

Share this:

A version of this article appeared in the January 31 2024 print edition of the Western Wayne News.

Millicent Martin Emery is a reporter and editor for the Western Wayne News.