Wayne County Foundation has announced which two area high school seniors will receive the full-tuition Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.

From seventy-nine applicants, Emily Cox of Lincoln High School and
Garrett Walther of Centerville High School were chosen as Wayne County’s 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

The announcement was made Tuesday, Dec. 14, after the students submitted an application earlier this year.

Five finalists were interviewed this fall.  They also included Esther Etherington of Richmond High School; Devin Frazier of Centerville Senior High School; and Shayna Morris of Lincoln High School.

Garrett Walther of Centerville Senior High School receives congratulations from CSHS Principal Tim Hollendonner.

Each Lilly scholarship provides for full tuition, required
fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 for required books and equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public
or private nonprofit college or university.

Since the Lilly Endowment created the program during the 1998-1999 school year, fifty-three students have been awarded Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships through the Wayne County Foundation.

Read more about the winners in the Dec. 22 edition of Western Wayne News.

Share this:

Millicent Martin Emery is a reporter and editor for the Western Wayne News.