In the wresting sectional conducted at Centerville High School on Saturday, Jan. 27, there were many intense battles before a near sellout crowd. Wayne County schools had five weight class champions and 10 other Wayne County wrestlers qualified to advance to the Richmond Regional on Saturday, Feb. 3. The team trophy went to the New Castle Trojans for the second consecutive year.

Heather Crull, Northeastern (106 pounds), Oshea Phillips, Centerville (144 pounds), Roy Thornbury, Hagerstown (175 pounds), Zane Schneider, Northeastern (215 pounds) and Michael Henderson, Northeastern (285 pounds) were weight class champions.

The top four finishers in each weight class advanced to the regional. In addition to the weight class champions, Centerville will advance Cami Davis (third at 106), Kyle Sheard (second at 120), Conner Frazier (third at 126), Nick Roberts (third at 132), Kale Creech (second at 138), Quentin Turner (fourth at 157), Tziyon Phillips (third at 165), Grant Soper (third at 175) and Nathan Westover (second at 285).

Photos by DAJO Photos

Hagerstown will advance Robert Sullivan (fourth at 120), Zach Golliher (second at 150 and Wyatt Mitchell (third at 190).  

Lincoln will advance Gage Sherwood (third at 138). 

Northeastern will advance Lucas Chamness (third at 120), Thane Berger (third at 165) and Caleb Cohee (second at 190).

Richmond will advance Brendon Walker (fourth at 126), Gavin McFarland (third at 144), and Malachi Qualls (third at 285).  

Final standings: New Castle 216, Eastern Hancock 196, Centerville 191, Northeastern 137.5, Tri High 127, Hagerstown 108, Richmond 63, Knightstown 59.5, Cambridge City Lincoln 51, Shenandoah 51, Blue River Valley 24. 

Updated at 11:40 a.m. on Jan. 30 to correct the teams listed in the final standings. An earlier version incorrectly listed “East Central” when in fact the team is “Eastern Hancock.”

Share this:

A version of this article appeared in the January 31 2024 print edition of the Western Wayne News.

Dan Harney is a sports reporter at the Western Wayne News.