Richmond Mayor Dave Snow won the only contested race on Tuesday’s primary election ballot in Richmond to advance to the general election.

Snow collected 65.96 percent of the votes, receiving 1,021, compared to Jack Cruse’s 34.04 percent (527 votes).

Snow is concluding his first term as Richmond mayor, while Cruse formerly worked for the city.

Unopposed Republican mayoral candidate received Jamie Lopeman received 631 votes. Lopeman currently serves as a Richmond Common Council member.

Three Republicans (newcomer Jane Bumbalough, current councilman Ronald Oler and former councilman Larry Parker) will face three Democrats (Nickolas Dunlap, D. Sue Roberson and C. Yvonne Washington) in their first races for council.

Republican Jeff Cappa, who recently retired as Wayne County Sheriff, is unopposed for District 4 and Republican Gary Turner, an incumbent councilman, is unopposed in District 6.

Three incumbent Democrats on council are currently unopposed. They are Douglas Goss (District 1), Kelley Cruse-Nicholson (District 2) and Jeffrey Locke (District 5).

Democrat Bill Engle is currently unopposed in his first race for council (District 3).

Share this: