Richmond has won the Connersville track sectional for the first time since 2010.

On Thursday, May 16, the Red Devils racked up 161.5 points and won eight events to outdistance the field. 

Wayne County athletes won several events, and several athletes advanced to the regional. 

Antonio West from Richmond was a double winner, capturing first in both the 100-meter and the 200-meter. West was also a member of the winning 4 x 100-meter relay team and the winning 4 x 400-meter relay team. Kaden Young from Hagerstown was also a dual winner, winning the 800-meter and 1600-meter races. 

Event winners plus top five finishers from Wayne County schools (Top three advance to Regional) 

100-meter— Antonio West (RHS) 11.29, 2nd Javon Vecera (RHS), 4th Maddox Pritchet (CHS), 5th Ethan Moore (CHS). 

200-meter — West (RHS) 23.13, 4th Zach Golliher (HHS), 5th Trevin Crosby (RHS) 

400-meter — Crosby (RHS) 50.43 (meet record), 2nd Brody Puckett (CCL), 4th Andrew Warner (SC), 5th Ethan Moore (CHS) 

800-meter — Kaden Young (HHS), 2:01.16, 3rd Lucas Chamness (NE), 4th Isaac Schmitz (HHS), 5th Julian Bowden (RHS)

1600-meter — Young (HHS) 4:37.01, 2nd Alex Orihuela (RHS), 3rd Xavier Ogle (RHS), 4th Logan Smith (NE) 

3200-meter — Orihuela (RHS) 10:03.05, 2nd Logan Smith (NE), 3rd Cale Newton (RHS), 5th Bryce Tinkle (HHS) 

110-meter hurdles — Lowell Berger (HHS) 15.91, 4th Bryson Brown (CHS) 17.77, 5th Roy Thornbury (HHS) 

300-meter hurdles — Trent Deloney (NE) 41.78, 2nd Berger (HHS), 3rd Ben Holliday (RHS), 5th Aidan Munchel (CCL)

4 x 100-meter relay — West, Vecera, Haviarie Lapsley, Crosby (RHS), 41:78, 2nd Ethan Moore, Nick Whipple, Brown, Pritchet (CHS)

4 x 400-meter relay — West, Greyson Farmer, Ogle, Crosby (RHS) 3:31.56, 2nd Jackson Feist, Nate Wetherall, Zach Robinson, Warner (SC), 3rd Nolan Drake, Bryson McFarland, Chamness, Quarnell Denton (NE), 4th Luke Williams, Bear Ervin, Munchel, Puckett (CCL), 5th Schmitz, Thornbury, Sam Dusek, Berger (HHS) 

4 x 800-meter — Ogle, Ethan Miller, Bowden, Farmer (RHS) 8:18.21, 2nd Smith, McFarland, Chamness, Drake (NE), 3rd Schmitz, Ben Hokey, Cory Nash, Max Cabrera (HHS), 5th Joe Martin, Tate Chasteen, Braydon Click, Clay Johnson (CHS) 

Shot Put — Masson Heiny (RHS) 55’ 7”, 2nd Jacob Lindahl (RHS), 5th Ashton Ortega (CHS)

Discus — Nick Watterson (UCo) 141’ 9 “, 2nd Landon Lawson (HHS), 3rd Heiny (RHS)

High Jump — Blaine Hornsby (Con) 5’ 10”, 2nd Golliher (HHS), 3rd Feist (SC) and 3rd Vecera (RHS), 5th Brown (CHS).

Pole Vault — Lincoln Pflum (Con) 11’ 6”, 5th Mizell Mendiola (RHS)

Long Jump — Logan Brown (NE) 20’ 3”, 2nd Vecera (RHS), 3rd Pritchet (CHS), 4th Holliday (RHS) 

Final team standings: Richmond 161.5, Hagerstown 96, Connersville 79.5, Rushville 62, Northeastern 62, Centerville 48, Union County 40, Seton Catholic 25.5, Cambridge City 19.5, Tri High 19.

Share this:

A version of this article appeared in the May 22 2024 print edition of the Western Wayne News.

Dan Harney is a sports reporter at the Western Wayne News.